State Fair of Crazies

You always know it’s fall in Big D when the Texas Star starts spinning and you can smell the Fletcher’s corny dogs.  My family loves going to the State Fair of Texas.  John loves all things food and fried.  The girls want to ride rides and see the animals.  I go for an entirely different reason…

People Watching

If you love to people watch, the State Fair of Texas is your ticket to paradise.  All the “crazies” flock to it.

This year I decided to host my very own “People of The State Fair of Texas” award competition.  Of course, we aren’t going to talk about the fact that the entire competition was up in my head and I was the only one enjoying it. What we are going to talk about are all the CRAZIES that come out to the fair in droves.  And when I say crazies, of course I realize that these people may be perfectly normal and nice, they just save their best outfits EVER for fair day.

Contestant #1

Is it Prince? Is it the reincarnated Michael Jackson? Maybe it’s Diana Ross. Whomever you are, way to rock the socks and sandals buddy.


Contestant #2

Never mind her colorful bosoms, this woman takes her lizard with her everywhere she goes.  This is not an exhibit.  This lady, with her equally exotic husband whom I couldn’t get a picture of, literally brought her pet lizard to spend the day at the fair.

Contestant #3

Excuse me sir, Richard Simmons called and he wants his shorts back.

Contestant #4

In an effort to show off her thigh tattoo has decided just to wear a shirt to the fair.  I think the funniest part of this picture is my little cousin pleading with me to take a picture of thigh tattoo lady.

Contestant #5

This is a choose your favorite ending outfit.  In my story he jumps up and dances with the Lake Highland Wildcat Wranglers.  A friend also suggested that he may be a bouncer in the evenings.

Contestant #6

WE HAVE A WINNER!!!

Excuse me ma’am but I can’t stop staring at your delicious looking drum stick.

6 Comments

Filed under Home School, Home Schooling, Social Commentary

6 responses to “State Fair of Crazies

  1. How rude! (in the immortal words of Stephanie Tanner.)

    I hate myself for laughing, but this is the best thing I’ve seen all week. Why weren’t you ‘Freshly Pressed?’

  2. Ummm…. I am no pro myself and hope I can explain this properly.

    Daily, WordPress chooses a few select blogs as the BEST of the BEST.
    If you go to the tab (upper left of your screen, when you are logged in) there is a selection that says: Read Freshly Pressed.

    Let me know if you find it!

  3. Jerry Turn

    How about her storage of her smokes? Looks like she has everything stored there also. Great story line April, you are a great writer. Great site also..

Leave a Reply

